M14 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got this in the mail today. Really looking forward to trying it out.
Big thanks to Art at Shootingsight for spending some phone time with me to properly pair up a new Rx and sight. If you haven’t tried his metal business card with a ton of aperture sizes, you should.

Reflex camera Mirrorless interchangeable-lens camera Camera lens Automotive tire Point-and-shoot camera

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
I have been using Art's rectangular sight for a a few years now. Allows better focus like a smaller round, but less blur on the top of the front sight without creating a dark sight picture that an extremely small aperture would.

I'm also using a +diopter insert to help with front sight focus as my eyes have aged.

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Good to hear that others have had some success with this. I opted for customized prescription glasses vs the lens insert.

·
Eye Master
4,121 Posts
There are two aspects to getting a proper sight picture: 1) getting your relaxed focus in the right place via lens power, and 2) getting the largest possible depth of field around that focal point. Depth of field is a measure of how quickly things go out of focus if they are not at your perfect focal point, said another way: how blurry are your sight and target when you are not focused on either, but on a point in between the two.

Based on the distance to the front sight of an M14, the correct hyperfocal distance calls for a +0.50 diopter added to whatever distance prescription you use.