M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
after selling my Norinco 18.5inch rifle, I am now on the prowl for a 22inch match grade m1a. I am hoping to compete (for fun, I know I suck) in some matches and just have some fun, and bring it hunting with me (weight doesn't matter, I'm no softie).

I have found a brand new springfield national match with stainless steel barrel and a walnut stock, for $1680, including free shipping.

I have also found a brand new springfield super match m1a rifle for $2250, this is the one with the oversized walnut stock and douglas barrel.

Now, the real problem.. deciding which one to purchase!

Accuracy is my main deciding factor, with money coming in as a close second. As I am a college student (4 months left yay) Who has car payments, insurance, lives on his own, and is saving up for a six-plex apartment building downpayment.

decide for me?
Cheers Riley

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
You have to get pretty good in solid positions before you will notice the difference in how they can shoot.

Get the NM and a lot of match grade ammo for practice.

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
+1 on the advise from MAC. I might even go so far as to say look for a nice used loaded model, save more $$ and buy more ammo.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
NM not as accurate but much lighter, A SM will be 1" to 1.5" with the right ammo but heavy, NM with the right ammo can shoot 1.5" maybe 2" in my guesstimations. i say go with the NM until you really get hooked into competition, then get the 12lb SM.

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
Dump the "apartment" idea...
Belay that "Dump the apartment" order!

Get that apartment and in a few years you will be able to buy any M1A you want with any amount of ammo you desire.

Good investment for a young college student -- smart thinking for the future!

+1 on the NM or Loaded models...leaves more cash for ammo.

Regards,
D1

·
Registered
871 Posts