M14 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Remmington M887 Pump Shotgun one day New, never fired.

Load all the shells, went to clear the weapon. First shell ejected great then started to get double/triple feeds resulting in jamming.

I am new to shotguns, 15 years USAF (rifles I know).

Please tell me it is user error, and learn me how to fix my ways.

I have tried five times with same results.

Disassembled magazine inspected .. twice .. looks good but same issue.

Suggestions, besides trade it for an Asrto-2000 ray gun?

Thanks

·
Registered
566 Posts
Sounds like the shell catch is sticking open allowing the shells to slip out of the mag tube. Did you disassemble the shotgun, clean and lube it? The oils on a firearms when you buy them new are not lubricating oils, they are preserving oils and usually a little sticky to the touch. After cleaning and lubing if it is still malfunctioning contact Remington.

Afa unloading, do NOT unload a shotgun by running all the shells through the chamber. There is always the possibility of a slam fire. Instead put the safety on and slowly pull the slide to the rear and remove the chambered shell and the shell on the shell lifter through the ejection port. Leave the slide to the rear and turn the shotgun upside down. Look in the loading port and you'll see a piece of metal, the shell catch, holding a shell in the mag tube. With your thumb press it to release the shell. Then remove it through the loading port. Repeat until the mag tube is empty. That's the safe way to do it.

Marty

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Roger that ... Safe is good.

I did keep the rifle pointed in a safe direction, however I am sure the landlord would not be happy with the addition of a new window in the house.

I did not clean off the factory oil yet ... just read the manual and was curious to how the shotgun magazine worked. Thanks for the heads up. Slam fire bad GI3