M14 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
***New pics added***

I know a thread has already been started about the "Tanker"
M1, but being that I am a newb I wanted some info please. I just got this M1 converted in 308 w/the shorter "tanker" barrel. I did some research andread about these having receivers that are welded together and some might not be safe. I took it apart today and did not see any signs of welding. Shot it afterwards and it functioned flawlessly. I included some pics to see if anyone has any feedback or sees anything wrong with it they might want to point out.
Thanks
Ed

·
Registered
2,061 Posts
Your pics are too small to see. The easiest way to tell if welded is to inspect inside the receiver. If there is any evidence of reweld it'll show up there. I had to send a BM62 back that was a reweld just last month and while it looked O.K. outside you could not miss the file/grind/rough millings and welding pits.

·
Registered
57 Posts
What JC said, post larger pics....inspect inside of receiver and check draw #s on front leg to see if they match the "born on date" of receiver.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry about previous pics, maybe these will come out larger. I did not see any weld marks when I took it apart, but will disassemble completely and look where you suggested. Any other input appreciated.
Thanks & Merry Christmas

·
Registered
57 Posts
Resolution on pics makes it hard to really tell. What #s are on the front receiver leg and what are the 1st 4 on the receiver?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Will have to get back on you on that one, I am at work, will have my son pull it out the safe and I will post it.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Resolution on pics makes it hard to really tell. What #s are on the front receiver leg and what are the 1st 4 on the receiver?

1st 4 on receiver Springfield 2546
operating rod 7790722-RA