M14 Forum banner

What is your favorite gas piston?

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

OK, as a newb I'll ask a question I'm sure you guys are sick of but I haven't really seen any good answers for... Who makes the best gas piston for a new build? Please provide details to support your suggestions. I really appreciate your help.

1) Sadlak TiN
2) SEI
3) LRB black nitride
4) Other

·
Registered
9,319 Posts
There are several ways to evaluate a piston, by dimensional tolerances, by how long they last, by how they effect accuracy; but more often than not you can't tell which is best for your rifle until you test it.

I like Sadlak products but I've seen their TiN coated piston produce worse groups in a full sized rifle and yet improve the groups in a SOCOM. On the other hand I've got a USGI piston in two of my rifles and they seem to work just great.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you gentlemen. I appreciate your responses. Any suggestions on a vendor for a good polished USGI piston?

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Ok, I'll bite. I have had 3 pistons, a used USGI, a Refurbished USGI, and a Sadlak TiN w/o NM groove. The rifle came with the used USGI piston. I put the others in to try to improve accuracy, come to find out my rifle absolutely hated the particular lot of 175gn FGMM I was shooting. After sorting all that out I found the original piston worked the best. It is not unheard of for armorers to take several, and I mean several pistons to the range and shoot groups with them to find the "best one".

If you honestly want my no BS answer if you only could have one piston from the start?

Depends.
USGI
Sadlak with NM groove for accuracy.

Looking over your options, break it down to price.
Commercial $18.00 from LRB arms.
Refurbished USGI $20.00 from RA parts.
Black Nitride $32.95 from LRB arms.
SEI $85.00 from SEI.
SADLAK $48.00 from RA parts.
SADLAK nm gv $58.00 from RA parts.