M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been Carrying ( when i do carry) my Colt 1911 since 1988. When i lived in NY having a full sized Gov't model on my Hip or in a shoulder holster was not really a problem.
I will admit here in FL it is a Challenge to hide it without sweating to death or looking really sloppy with over sized shirts.
The .45ACP is my caliber of choice but I started thinking about something smaller.
A Commander or officers model is not enough of a change to make it worthwhile for me.

I came across this Sig P939 Scorpion in FDE. It shoots a 9MM Round.
It is not much larger than a 380, something I would not trust.
It is set up like a 1911 with a SAO Trigger and the safety in the same place like a 1911.

I told my Wife about it and she said "Order it for your Birthday!" It came Tuesday and I was able to get it to the range yesterday for a tryout .

I fired 135 Rounds with 2 failures to fire (they did on the second try) both with Factory Geco 124 gr Ammo. The 115gr Federals and my 124 gr Hand loads all worked flawlessly.
Accuracy wise the Gun seems to like smoething other than 115Grain Bullets.
I must admit the 7.5 Lb Trigger takes some getting used to and the gun needs the rear sight moved right a bit but it is a shooter that fits in a pocket and Fires a full sized 9MM Bullet. Something I cam carry all the time.
As I figured my Hand was going to be a bit sore and it was. Gee that does not happen with my .45?

For SHTF,Hunting or Fishing I will still rely my 1911 or M9 but for my everyday carry and threat level this will do nicely.

The Group in the Photo is a Young Range officer who has good eyes and shoots so many different Guns in a Day the Trigger did not bother him.
This is a 5 shot group with my hand loads.
Not bad for a pocket Pistol.
Thanks for my Present Hun I even like the color !

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Happy Birthday, great present!

Reactions: SGT John SWF

·
Registered
4,320 Posts