M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an Armscorp M21 clone that is almost finished and want to put some optics on it. It was built to represent one made in the mid 80’s. I also have the “early” Brookfield Precision Mount and am learning towards an ART II scope. Also considering Nightforce. I will be using this for target shooting but want to keep it as correct as possible to the era. Please give me your thoughts, opinions, and constructive criticism. Thanks
Bubba

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
I will be using this for target shooting but want to keep it as correct as possible to the era
Well, if historical accuracy is the goal for an M25 type rifle (ie, Fiberglass stock w/ BPT scope mount), you really have only 2 or 3 scopes to consider:

First option: The Leupold M3A Ultra fixed 10x power (w/ standard Mil-Dot reticle). These scopes were made roughly 1987 to reportedly 1993. These were used on the M24 sniper rifles and had an NSN as of July 1987, the downside is they have become somewhat more pricey with guys using them on their M24Rs. The original evaluation or "trial scopes" that Leupold provided free to the military circa mid-1980s (M1/M2/M3) included the M3 Ultra (made approx 1984-86) and it had 1" windage adjustments per click, but the military requested 1/2" MOA windage adjustments, and that design change resulted in the M3A Ultra model, which was adopted in 1987/88 and used until 2010. I have three of the M3As, one dated 1989, and the other two are dated 1990. A good, solid military scope.

Second choice: Old B&L 'Elite 4000' or more often called the '10x Tactical' scope. These were made in the 1980s and I think until the late 1990s. SOCOM bought a bunch of them and they were used on the Navy M14 snipers and I have seen them on US Special Forces M25s as well. I have only one of these scopes at this time, but wouldn't mind one more.