M14 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to not just the forum but M1A's in general. Recently I purchased a Springfield Armory M21. While I've shot a friends standard and SOCOM, he is my leading experties at this point, I have some unanswered questions about the M21 (would apply to a Super Match as well).

First, what kind of break in procedures should I be aware of? I know I shouldn't get the barrel too hot for the first 100 rounds or so, have been even told to give the barrel a quick cleaning every 5 to 10 shots durring that period. Is this a good idea? Is there anything else I should know? How far down does it need to be cleaned befor I shoot it the first time?

Second, I'm curious about maitenence and cleaning. I hear a lot about glass bedding, but at the risk of sounding like a moron, where is it and how might I be damaging it by cleaning my gun? How far down should I be breaking it down when I clean? How often should I be getting deep on the cleaning? With many of my guns I simply use G96 between range sessions and have never ever had a problem with a gun I own, but should I be doing something different with the M1A? I've seen that there is "grease" that is used in them, what should I be getting and how much would I use, and where?

Third, still has to do with cleaning/teardown, but what should I be aware in terms of the rear lug that is on the Super Match and M21? How will this feature affect how I maintain this gun compared to a standard?

I know that's a lot of questions, but if they could all be answered in this thread it would make a nice compact resource for new M1A owners in general along with those that own Super Match and M21 variants.

Thanks,

Drew

·
Registered
781 Posts
welcome to the forum, ( sorry dont know the answers to the questions but guarantee someone else with an m21 and a whole lot more lead down range does)

Enjoy

·
Registered
781 Posts