M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Banned
4,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After consulting with my local M14 Guru, Tonyben(http://m14forum.com/users/tonyben/) about "builds", how they are conceived and brought into this world..... I decided I would share this one. Tony has always been a great mentor and teacher to this community. Hopefully what I share will be of use to some of the newer members. I encourage you to ask questions, not just of me but the entire community here. I have found them to be the most "knowledgeable brothers" that gather anywhere ... not just about the M14 platform, but life in general.
-------------
I am a retired pipefitter / welder who has more time than money. I very much enjoy the "barter" concept of commerce. I was raised by a Dad that, many times, told me "Son, do something... even if it's wrong". In following this guideline, I've made many more mistakes than the average man. I've also been blessed with a lifetime of learning experiences.
--------------
As with many of my builds, this one began with a few left over parts and an idea to build something that represents the past. I hope you enjoy this thread.

Hobo

·
Banned
4,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Physically, the build began with the parts shown below. Mentally it began when a mutual friend introduced me to the "Old Shooter". A man who competed at Camp Perry several times but can't remember exactly how many. Recently he shared with me that, due to health and age, he doubted he would ever shoot the M14 platform again. I learned that he may have a "few parts" he would be interested in selling. And, the build began.

·
Banned
4,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·