M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to the forums. I have found a lot of info from this site so after a time I figured I should probably register.

With that being said.. I am having an issue with my rifle holding a zero after a each trip to the range or varmit shoot. I can get it to zero and even hold sub moa with ease, but as soon as I come back to the range again it is off zero vertically and horizontally. I have checked to make sure the scope mount and rings are tight and installed correctly numerous times, and I shoot my own hand-loads. Rifle has roughly 400 rounds through it. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated, as I am no expert on the matter, the only thing I can think of is maybe the aluminum scope mount is being affected by change in temperature? I take very good care of my rifle, it does not bounce around on the floor boards of my vehicle. I carry and store it in a padded rifle-case when its not being used and it is cleaned after every shoot.

Rifle Specs - Standard Springfield Armory M1A, Springfield Armory 4th gen aluminum scope mount, Leupold VX-R 3-9x40 scope + rings, Sage International EBR Chassis Stock.

Load Specs - 175gr Sierra BTH, 44.5gr Varget, WLR primers, assorted military brass.

5,445 Posts
Are you using Leupold's pressure gauged ring scope tool to ensure your rings are properly seated?

I forget the precise name of the tool but it worked wonders for seating my Leupold scope properly.

·
Registered
4,957 Posts
I hate to be negative but that is what my rifle did when my leupold went south. Shoot it with irons at 50 yards to see if it does the same thing.

Also 44.5 varget in mil brass with a 175smk is on the hot side unless you have a really slow lot of varget.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I hate to be negative but that is what my rifle did when my leupold went south. Shoot it with irons at 50 yards to see if it does the same thing.