M14 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had any experience with the ART/MPC scopes? I think it was made by Leatherwood. I got it with an M1A I just bought recently and I was wondering if they are any good. I am new to the precision shooting arena and I am not ready (yet) to buy a top of the line sniper scope to learn how to shoot at long distances. Is this scope good enough to learn with. I have an ARMS #18 on order because the SA 3rd Gen mount it came with was canting the scope to the right. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :D
Edizzle

btw I put this exact question of the Battlefield rifles board so many of you will probably see it again.

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Aloha Edill69:

Welcome Aboard! Glad to have you here!!!

You know that is probably one of the most asked question that I have seen posted... and with good reason... this simple question has such a slew of answers... be prepared, you will get inundated with information that will be good for you to make that ultimate decision...

You already got your weapon of choice, an ARMS mount... now a scope... hmmm... I am wondering... what kind of budget are you working with? Do you have preferences of your own from your own experiences? What have you heard so far that has appealed to you? These will be good questions, if answered, that will help us help you.

"T" has already pointed you towards the possibility of a Tasco Super Sniper that runs for about $300. I am sure the full spectrum of what is out there will be enormous.

However, I also have Tasco SS scopes, and some call it "Trashco", I have found them to be a good medium priced scope which have finger turrets, mil-dot reticles, clear glass and fairly sturdy frame. I like them so much that at one point, I had five of them. The 10X will probably be best for most, the 16X will be good for long range, the 20X is too powerful unless you are shooting at really long distances.