M14 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I've been lurking on the site for awhile and decided to take the plunge...both on the forum and the purchase of an M14.

I live in Oklahoma City and plan to go to the Tulsa Gun show this coming weekend to see if I can find a new (or near new) standard M14. I'm assuming I can buy one for less than $1400, hopefully a few hundred less. From trolling on here I've learned (I think) to get a USGI magazine or two if I can.

I've decided on the standard Springfield, composite stock, because I'm new to this world (only ever shot the M16/M4 in the service) and figure I can upgrade it if I really get the disease. :)

My question is, and be gentle, would there be any limitations I would incur buying a standard M14, something I couldn't later change out/upgrade? My limited knowledge and snooping on here tells me no, but just wanted to consult the institutional knowledge.

And any Tulsa show veterans? Good place to buy an M14?

Thanks!

·
Registered
194 Posts
First off, welcome to the site. I can echo the fact of never shooting an M14 in the military (M9, M4, M249, M240, M203, Mk19, M107, M870, and M2 though). As for getting a springfield standard, great choice. With that platform you have nearly unlimited, well as far as you paycheck can go, possibilities for modification.
Personally, I have a Norinco M305 M14 Sporter I bought for $800 on my 18th birthday (mowed a lot of lawns and worked a lot of overtime and McD's to get her!) and it takes a bit more work to modify since it's built with metric standards but I like working with my hands and like a good challenge.

·
Retired Admin
I lost all of my rifles & handguns in a mishap on Rio Grande when the barge hit a sandbar and sank.
19,124 Posts
Research, still the best game in town......