M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently moved to New Jersey from Colorado. I can't find good consistent information on what is legal and not legal in New Jersey. I understand the permitting process, etc. But can you buy/own an M14/M1a with a flash supressor. How about a no-ban AR type rifle with all the evil features? If no flash supressors are permitted, can i buy a new Springfield "Socom" since it has a muzzle brake. I understand the 15 round mag limitation as well. Thanks in advance...best, Jason

·
Registered
247 Posts
First off, WELCOME! Next, WHAT THE HE!! DID YOU MOVE TO NJ FOR! Having said that, I'm just busting ya stones about the moving part. I'm a resident of NJ as well so here's what I know. M1A's are fine but you can't have a "working" bayonet lug on the rifle. Notice I said "working". It can be on the rifle but it can't accept a bayonet. I have an AK-74 with the bayonet lug filled in with a spot of metal and it's perfectly legal. But the M1A's lug is a little more noticable than the 74's though.
Purchasing an M1A is also fine, but they won't come with a lug though. People here will stick their nose in your business in a heartbeat on the range, so be careful. I wouldn't go shooting until you take care of the lug either. Speaking of ranges, where in NJ did you move to if you don't mind me asking? I can fill you in on a few ranges here if you'd like, depending on what part of the Republic you're in.
An Ar in NJ has to be "post ban", meaning no lug or flash suppressor. Simp

·
Registered
980 Posts
Simp, would filling in the bayonet lug with JB Weld make it PC for NJ's AG?

·
Registered
247 Posts
Thanks Tom! Keep the e-mails coming! Looks like we have added another person to "our side".