M14 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I don't usually introduce myself on forums, but I thought I would relate my experiences with the M14. I started shooting small bore rifle at around 14 years, eventually took up high power rifle when I acquired a rifle M1. My first experience with the rifle M14 was at the National Rifle and Pistol Matches in 1965 which was the first year the rifle M14 NM was made available to the competitors, and I really liked the M14. In 1970 during Military Police advanced training we used M14s both in field exercises and for qualification. Most of the rifles we used were semi-automatic only, but I was issued a select-fire rifle, and had the opportunity during field exercises to fire the rifle full auto (with blank cartridges). Years later I acquired a rifle M1A and retired my M1. For two years in the 1980s I was on the state Army National Guard rifle team and was issued M14 NM serial number 18776, which I really enjoyed shooting especially with free ammunition. I've owned three M1As, and assisted a couple of friends assemble rifles. The one M1A I still have is on display at the headquarters of the National Guard division, along with other long arms, masquerading as an M14.

My ROTC sergeant in high school mentioned that he had an M14 that was especially accurate until he struck the barrel on the tailgate of a truck while dismounting, and the rifle wouldn’t hold a group after that.