M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I have an opportunity to buy a Springfield M-1 Grand #43017xx
Looks legitimate but I’m no expert I have read that parts scavengers tend to gut them and replace with cheep parts I have know idea of what to look for or basic value of the rifle any help would be appreciated greatly

·
Registered
1,119 Posts
Barrel date should be in the 5 to 7 1953 range to be original....or there abouts. Look to see if its a welded receiver, but CMP paperwork would eliminate that. Condition of the metal(pitting), damaged stocks, and barrel reading will determine value. A decent one with good barrel readings have been selling in the $1400 range.......FWIW

·
Registered
2,162 Posts
I just sold an all original and correct 4,311,XXX Springfield M1 with an excellent 6/53 barrel (2 TE/1 MW) and JLG large wheel cartouched stock for $2,300, sold it to a C&R 03FFL, simple, easy deal. Picked it up at a gun show in Roseburg, OR back when DCM was one and done, it was a good investment.

·
Registered
349 Posts
Generally speaking, the internal parts that could be replaced, should have no. stamped sequentially from year to year. You can find reference material that will tell you which years and whether they match the no. years stamped on receiver, barrel, bolt and manufacturer.
Here's a cursory synopsis to get you stared, if interested: How to Determine the Vintage and Origin of M1 Garand Components
I especially like the section on wood restoration.

·
Registered
5,933 Posts
You all do realize that the Army regularly overhauled M1 and most of them have a mix of manufacturers and dash numbers that are not in any way related to the receiver's heel markings. Barrels are replaced about every six to ten years, depending on type of unit, much shorter if a training unit.

These are not "parts guns", they are the way all long serving military weapons will eventually be.