M14 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have not seen any references on this, but baised on my experience with other guns I think it is worth talking about...

For many years I have always "lubed" the "working parts" of my bolts, currently, with BreakFree.

By "working parts" I mean the ejector and the extractor.

Everytime I clean one of the "M" rifles I put a drop or two of BreakFree in the ejector "hole", and around the extractor from the top, and in the extractor stem hole from the bottom.

I have been doing this for many years, and I have never had ANY problems with the "working parts" in the bolt of these 2 rifles.

I do the same with any rifle that has a spring plunger type of ejector [like say a Remington 700, an M16 or a Blaser R 93]. I even do it on the extractor of my H&K rifles...

Does anybody else do this???

If not maybe you should.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Very, very sparingly and only if I don't intend to shoot the rifle for a while - for several reasons. One, I like a dry chamber. Pulling back and releasing the bolt sprays the inside of the chamber with oil. Second, the oil has to go somewhere and usually thru the action and into the wood - another "no, no" in my humble estimation. Oil also attracts dirt and dust. This is just me. HTH

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have found that BreakFree does not overly attract carbon or any other kind of fouling or dirt.

It is truely a CLP [Cleaner, Lubricant, Protector].

If I could have only one all round "Juice" for guns it would be BreakFree.

You do still need a grease, and one bore cleaner for copper fouling...

·
Registered
1,903 Posts
Civilian Break Free maybe. Ever since they dumped the teflon in the mil spec version, it's pretty much worthless. We took to mixing 3 parts CLP with 1 part ATF for cleaning. Wouldn't use that on the ejector.

Your method is still standard for M16 series maintenance.

·
Super Moderator
11,621 Posts