M14 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never had a knife that I used that had a leeather handle. I do have an Air Force Camilus, with a leather handle but I have never used it.

I see where a lot of current buyers of Randall knives get the Leather handle.

I am just curious as to why???

It would seem to me that leather would be the most fragile of any of the handles Randall offers.

Do you pick this handle because its old school or does it have some qualities I might be missing?

I can see how it would not be as hot in the desert, or as cold in the winter.

How does it hold up long term when it repeatedly gets bloody working on game?

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I have used an Eastwing leather Sportsmans Axe for several years, but it does not stay out in the weather and I have never bloodied up the handle.

And I have a Woodsmans Pal that I have been using for 5 years, but again it has not been exposed to the weather, or worn daily as a knife would be.

·
Registered
7,441 Posts
The leather handles are very attractive and also traditonal in hunting knives. Altho I went with micarta when ordering from Randall, I have to say that I've had no problems with leather washer handled knifes made by other, lesser companies- the blades themselves may have been lousy, and often were, but the handles are still going strong. The main problem with those handles alone would be that they are generally just a thin metal rod, making them weak- but that is not the fault of the washer concept.

BTW, I too have an Estwing hatchet that I seriously if unintentionally abused by leaving it in the trunk of my car for a couple of winters- since the whole hatchet acted as a little heat sink, the blade rusted like crazy from condensation and the handle was green with mould when I finally took it out- but the handle came out of that rather better than the blade, which had pitting.