M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
slings

hi! i used to use the turner biothane sling. but i've been using les tam since i got mine five years ago and i've been pretty happy w/ it. i shoot high power and my slings take some beating since i sling up really tight. les tam's slings are really high quality and very reasonable price considering what you are getting. i've got 2 of his slings. you won't be dissapointed w/ les. great guy to talk to also. good luck. thnx. frank

·
Registered
Custom service rifle builder
8,825 Posts
I never put anything on my leather slings. I don't even clean them with saddle soap as most manuals instruct. Other than a couple of instances of keeper failure (mostly due to poor stitching) I have never had a sling fail me in all the years I've been a competition shooter. I should note that the slings I use were new GI slings when put into use. The slings I'm using right now were made in 1986. I have three on different M14 rifles. I have also used Turner leather slings which I think are very high quality and will probably outlast GI slings.

·
Registered
914 Posts
A very long time ago (about 38 - 39 yrs...) I bought my dad a nice locally made (Vancouver, B.C.; a shop that made custom logger's boots and other items) mil-style leather sling for the new .308 Win 88 I'd bought him a year earlier. Not knowing any better, and with a lot of experience with the product out at the airport in a servicing hanger, I applied a mix of 1:1 LPS #1 and LPs #2, liberally lathered on, left to sit for about 1 hour, and then wiped off.

It has protected and limbered up that sling, and it's still nice and compliant @ 38+ yrs, but the sling's still holding it's shape through quite a few hunts in north-central British Columbia, with snow, sleet, rain, mud, etc. I'll tell you what; that locale ain't no nice warm southern US huntin' in November & December!