M14 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy Buckeroos,

Many of us do not know what we really have on hand.

I have been socking ammo and supplies away since the late 1970’s, when we were called survivalists – not the current touchy feely preppers.

Last June/July we moved our home and business (after thirty-two years) from California to Arizona.

We had stuff in the house, garage and storage buildings mixed in with the store inventory.

Boy was I shocked.

I discovered that we had too much of this and kinda sorta not enough of that.

Two of the kids helped us move, we paid them in cash, ammo and supplies. They cut a fat hog on the deal.

A running inventory of what you have may keep you from winding up in the same situation, and keep you out of hock.

The good/bad news is that I no longer shoot enough to reload. That saved me from having a gazillion primers, bullets and powder.
Having not reloaded in over three decades I found a cache of new in the box bullets, they went to friends.

A few times, when I went shooting I had to buy ammo – only recently discovering that I had loads of it under this or that pile.

The moral of the story is: if you cannot find it – you really don’t have it and if you bark your shins falling over it – you may have too much.

I know, some people will say you can never have too much, I used to subscribe to that.

If I shot as much as I would like to, most of this would be a “non-issue”.

As always,

Keep yer powder dry.

John (formerly Photovoltaics)

·
Registered
2,146 Posts
You are absolutely correct....a couple months ago I bought a new oprod for a build I am starting and night before last I found two SAK oprods I had wrapped up and stored in the bottom of my spare parts box. I won`t talk about stashed ammo and such....

·
Super Moderator
11,231 Posts
I think I now have more 45 ACP brass and 9mm brass than I'll ever need.