M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wats up!

Just got an m1A scout, and she's a beast. Got some quick questions though.

So Im trying to zero my sights and Im running into issues with the front sight. Every instruction manual I've read says that I need to be using a 3/16 allan wrench. This is clearly not true as the closest size that fits is a 3/32. When I try to loosen the front sight screw, it doesn't budge. I've tried going both ways, but nothing seems to be working. What is the right direction to turn it? How much force should it take? If the screw is completely stripped, should I send it back to springfield?

Thanks for your help, Im a little new to firearms

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
Left to loosen, right to tighty. Lube with WD40, super penetrate, or the like.

A USGI front sight would probably cost less that what SAI would charge for their Taiwan made one.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Left to loosen, right to tighty. Lube with WD40, super penetrate, or the like.

A USGI front sight would probably cost less that what SAI would charge for their Taiwan made one.
Do not put a USGI front sight on a scout rifle. They are nowhere near tall enough.

Use a pennetrating spray. Make sure to spray the exposed threads which you can see from either side of the front sight, as well as the sight threads you can see at the muzzle side of the front sight. Let it stand for a few hours, or overnight. When you try to loosen the allen head bolt, be sure to turn it counter clockwise as you are facing the head of the bolt. If the allen head bolt strips, try a torx bit. You may have to tap on the torx bit to force it into the bolt head. If you strip it, you have already muttered up the appearance, so tapping a torx bit into the bolt won't really matter. You can get a new one later on.