M14 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here, and new to the M1a.

Well, after firing about 100 rds through our unit's M14 EBRs (Sage stock and MK4) over here in Iraq, I decided to get my own scoped M14 type.

I found this rifle on Gunbroker, looked exactly like the rifle I envisioned building (minus cheap optic) so I bought it for the guy's asking price. After doing some research, I think it is an M21 that was mis-identified as an M1A. The seller had the gun on consignment, and all he could tell me was that it was a custom job built by a guy in Calfornia named Don McCoy for match shooting. Apparently he builds Garands for matches. Is anyone here familiar with his work?

My rifle sports a heavy barrel, adjustable stock, a rear lug on the receiver, and a couple other nice refinements. The cheap BSA scope will not stay on this rifle, but I think I will use the ARMS mount.

What kind of optic should I consider? I would imagine 10x or less for this type of rifle. Anyone else have an M21 type rifle?

·
Registered
5,747 Posts
Looks like an M21 to me. I think the M21's were also marked M1A by SA Inc. Could be wrong.

It has the coveted ARMS split rail which is nice.

What sort of shooting do you plan to do?

·
Registered
77 Posts
It appears to be a custom M1A, now if it is a National Match or not you will need to check your marking on the gun in various places. I don't think it was ever a M21 used by the military but more than a custom M1A and a VERY NICE CUSTOM. Take care of that piece or the M1A Gods will punish you!!!!!

·
Registered
4,057 Posts
The Military's M21s were NM conditioned M14s,with Scope and Mount matched to a particular Rifle and shipped that way to Viet Nam, they were still marked M14 on the Heel, just like the rest of the Rifles!

·
Super Moderator
11,136 Posts