M14 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of buying a HRA Garand.The seller tells me it has a Springfield barrel and bolt.I am new to Garands. What should I look for to determine the date or other marks that would be of importance.Its only $500.00 dollars.So I just want it more to shoot than to restore but I would just like more info on its history and to see if I got anything "special" .The rifle is advertised as having a mismatched stock.How do I go about getting a correct stock set for it.Any info is greatly appriciated.Thanks Ray

·
Registered
2,677 Posts
There were a few HRA's delivered with all WWII marked parts, mostly Springfield. But those rifles are the exception and not the rule.

To find out how correct a rifle is requires more knowledge than is published in any one book. There are many exceptions and strange combinations of marks on HRA's.

My gut feeling is if you are paying $500.00 you are not getting anything special. In today's market an all correct rifle will bring well over $1000.00.
Futhermore I don't want to recommend you put lots of money into a rifle to restore it. Collectors often get trapped by putting $2000.00 dollars into a restoration which may bring $700.00-1000.00 the day they sell it.

Unfortunately the only way to know what is good on the rifle takes somebody with years of experience to personally inspect it. There is no other way.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Garand just arrived