M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There was a reprint of an AR article on slam fires included in the box with my new rifle. I stopped on the way home and bought a box of .308 Winchester SuperX 180gr Power Point hunting ammo, being a total noob and not having read the article.

I don't want to risk using it and intend to wait for my Milsurp to get here, but wondered if y'all can tell me whether it's really risky to use the commercial hunting cartridges.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Keep in mind while the slam fire issue is important to be aware of, you also risk damaging you rifle using ammo that does not match the pressure curve the gas system was designed to operate with.

·
Registered
185 Posts
I have never personally experienced a "slam fire", and like you, I never want to.

You are right to just wait for the correct ammunition.

FYI, I have heard that the greater risk, when firing .308 win. cartridges in a semi-auot chambered for 7.62x51mm, is overpressure in the chamber.

·
Registered
5,679 Posts
I'm familiar with that factory hunting round. It's SAAMI spec, no peculiar sensitivity to the primer. I don't think you're in danger of a OOB ignition with a clean chamber. It's loaded with a slower-burning/higher-pressure-cooking powder, however, like 4350, and would be better shot in your bolt-action rifle.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Spoke with SA Tech Support several weeks ago and I was told that the 180 gr. Winchester round I was asking about was the maximum safe load my SA NM M1A
could safely handle without risk of over-pressure. Still... I'm gonna put those 280 rds in the back of my ammo box for use in a future NEF Handi-Rifle I plan to get this year, and I won't use the 180's in my NM unless a dire emergency happens.

I was glad to hear I could use it, but with so many more safer loads, I don't want my rifle to undergo more stress than is neccesary.

Peace - Patrick <><

·
Registered
839 Posts