M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6,577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, say theoretically that I just got a tax refund, and theoretically I can get my wife to agree to my spending a bit of it on an M14 "bush" type rifle. The recent talk of QC issues from SAI have me a bit spooked... though I haven't had any issues with their stuff so far. But I haven't tried anything made in the last 5 or 6 years. I'm not well-read enough to know which of SAIs stuff is considered "good".

So, those of you who have done ground-up builds, and I know there are quite a few of you... what's the damage? Is it worth it to get a CMP kit to start with?

I want a standard, non-rear-lugged receiver to save weight (though I could be talked into a double-lug), an 18ish" barrel, GI stock/sights, and I guess as many GI parts as I can afford. My priorities would be, in order:

1. Reliability
2. Accuracy
3. Minimal weight

I have no personal knowledge if GI is better, but from what I see around here, GI is the way to go if you can.

So... say I started with an "approved year" SAI receiver, assuming I could lay my hands on one...

How much would it take to build this rifle at current prices, assuming I had zero parts (other than stocks with all metal) to start with?

And just for fun... what would using an LRB receiver add to the bill? $900 or so? GI3

·
"Death From Above"
11,644 Posts
LRB M14SA receiver $820
new old stock GI bolt $300
cmp kit unsure
LRB kit$499 less bolt and barrel they have discount on barrels
stock $100
get on the list at LRB
barrel Top of the line Krieger barrel 400 or as I said discounted if you have LRB build a rifle

·
Registered
3,220 Posts