M14 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to workout a trade with someone for his USGI wood stock. I'm new to this, so how can I tell if it is USGI? He said the only marking is "US" on the buttstock.

I just want to make sure I'm getting a fair trade.

·
Registered
7,565 Posts
The marking doesn't sound right, but We would have to see the stock to determine if it's actually GI. Not all GI stocks are marked. Also look under the butt plate for a manufacturers mark which also isn't always there. The type of wood may be an indicator too. GI stocks are going to be walnut, birch, and a few cherry. Chinese wood has very wide grain.

·
Super Moderator
3,397 Posts
This can be a tricky situation if you are not familiar. I always refer to the postings made by "Different" that outlines most of the critical information to identify stocks.

Normally you are looking for a combination of things to identify a stock as USGI:

Markings under the butt plate by some of the original manufactures - H, O, SA, ^S, W-W although some of the replacement stocks by H. Sacks and Sons Inc. and some others may have nothing under the butt plate. H. Sacks and Sons Inc. and Winchester also produced Big Red replacement stocks that normally have Either WW-11010263 for Winchester or ^S 11010263 stamped under the butt plate. H. Sacks and Sons Inc. also produced a replacement rack grade stock [not "Big-Red"] that may not have any marking except a ^S under the butt plate. In addition, you look for crimping on the front stock Ferrule either a "Pin Punch" or "Half-Moon Crimped" version as well as potentially a proof P stamp [Aerial P or Serif P] right behind the trigger and the DOD stamp on the side of the stock [if they were proof fired and accepted by the DOD]. Other markings also exist but this response would get too long to get into those.