M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, I have a Springfield loaded m1a from around 1996. Ive been working on this rifle for almost a year now trying to get some consistent grouping out of it with little success. I have match conditioned it myself with help from a few books and this forum. No, I am not a professional gunsmith but i do all my own work on my rifles and handguns with good enough results that friends and family come to me. Since last year I have glass bedded the rifle with the bedding fixture from brownells, installed all new GI springs, sadlak NM op rod spring guide, NM flash supressor, NM TIN coated sadlak gas piston, shimmed and unitized gas cylinder, free floated the handguard with RTV silicone like the army does and I have also lapped the bolt lugs with at least 80% contact on both sides and also checked the headspacing. I am an experienced handloader and have experimented with different 150 FMJ bullets of differnet manufacture and also 168 SMK's, 168 A-Max and 168 Nosler match bullets, also tried different brands of brass, military and commercial. I prep all my brass to match grade condition and even outside neck turn and sort them by weight with no noticeable changes in accuracy/consistency. I have tried all the popular powders listed for the service rifle with no success. Ive tried tuning my loads to barrel harmonics to no avail. The rifle does have draw pressure, but i feel its kind of light, but i get very mixed vibes on that subject depending on who you ask about it. Once in a while it will shoot a sub MOA group at 100 yards but it can never be done twice it seems. Sometimes ill get a nice 3 shot group with a flyer 2-3 inches away from the group and sometimes they will string all over the place randomly. Ive also tried using multiple styles of rests including the led sled, Caldwell rock front rest with a rear bag and also just resting on sand bags, all with the same results. I have checke