M14 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading and am in the process of obtaining all my equipment. I would just like some info and clarification on dies. I was planning on the Redding Type S Bushing Full Length Sizer Die Small Base 308 Winchester, Redding Comp Bullet Seater, 308 Win, and Lee Factory Crimp Die 308 Winchester. I know I need to measure the neck of loaded cases with a micrometer and subtract .003 for the correct bushing. I have bulk lithuanian. So I just measure the neck on those loaded cases?

Can someone please explain why I am subtracting the .003 for the bushing? Also, can someone explain how sizing the brass works and then trimming the brass?

Sorry for the confusion. I just want to start out correctly and understand. I took a reloading course and learned a lot and will take a precision reloading course again soon.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

·
Registered
975 Posts
I'm not familiar with using bushing dies. I normally think of them as neck sizing dies and not full length sizing dies. Somebody did describe to me a bit how the Redding bushing dies work and they sound like a bit more than neck sizing but I'm still not certain if they are 100% full length sizing dies. I do know that brass is "springy" and after being sized or compressed a bit of it will spring back larger than the sizing die. You also want the case neck to have tight tension on the bullet so it would have to sized smaller than the finished size to gain this tension. I have never used those types of dies but I was thinking to try them for a bolt action rifle. The description I got was they do bump the case shoulder a bit which normal neck sizing dies do not. I have wondered how they keep the case from bulging unless they are full length sizing dies, so maybe they will work just fine but I haven't even looked at them yet so I really don't know anything about other than what I've been told.

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
Discus,