M14 Forum banner

Help, advice needed, what scope should I get?

2089 20
Hello. I need some quick advice. I am scheduled to take a precision rifle course in May of this year. Although I have been shooting a rifle for over 20 yrs. I have never shot one with a scope before. I am now faced with the difficult task of choosing a scope for my rifle. Since I have never used a scope before and there are so many choices a friend suggested I ask around on this web site as there were many knowledgeable people who could probably be of help.

The rifle I am taking is a Polytech M-14. I sent it to Fulton Armory for their Chineese Upgrade Package. Since then, it seems to function fine and shoot straight. I can consistantly hit a 12X 8 steel plate at 90 yds. The class instructor suggested I not "spend a lot of money for a scope just for this class". Since this will be an Urban Precision Rifle course we will not be shooting beyond 200 yds. Any advice would be most appreciated. I really need to make a decision within the next week or so. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Welcome to the forum - you might want to try making friends with the iron sights first and then decide what optics you might need for your shooting requirements. Again, Welcome!

·
Registered
56 Posts
Not being a jerk here, but do you need a scope?

I have typical middle-aged eyes (now -3.00 left, -2.75 right (shooting eye) w/ a bit of astigmatism) and with some practice over the past 9 months, am frankly pretty decent at 200 with irons. Field positions, etc....

I'd be tempted to go with the irons, if it were me.

PS: Pls be sure and post a "range report" re your class...I am envious of you!

·
Registered
3,531 Posts
Aloha Dr. G:

Can you elaborate on what is to be expected in this Precision Rifle course? What kind of targets are you likely to be shooting at? Will exact shot placement be a requirement?