M14 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys great sight. I am no expert on the m-14 trying to learn.
My most important question for the experts here will be is the gun legal for a regular Joe to own?
This gun was taken to a gun guru because the rod would disconnect from the bolt sometimes after many shots often blamed on cheap ammo.
The guru was not happy and said the gun was not legal to own.
So with a flashlight and Google and researching this site, the gun was discovered to have very lightly etched marks with "Hahn machine st Charles".
The selector switch will move but has never been switched to try at range.
Also the gun appears to have a modified number looks like heat was involved changing outside numbers it is now only stamped with two digits.
So what do the experts say legal or not
Thanks

· Registered
Custom service rifle builder
9,373 Posts
This is one of those things that must be seen to fully understand what it is. The rifles Hahn made up were welded receivers from demilled rifles. At the time he was doing this it was legal. Now it's not. However, Hahn rifles were approved by the ATF at the time and are now grandfathered in. My concern is that you mentioned it has a selector lug with a loose (?) lock. If the lock can be removed, it can be replaced with a selector switch which would make it very illegal. I don't know if Hahn was licensed to manufacture full auto weapons. Even if he was, those rifles made FA would be illegal if not properly registered. Without pictures of the selector, that's all I can tell you.

· Registered
3,361 Posts
the rod would disconnect from the bolt sometimes after many shots often blamed on cheap ammo.
------------------
The rear of the oprod can become 'dismounted' from its track if the oprod handle is 'pushed or twisted up/down' when the oprod is manually pulled backwards and released to feed a round.