M14 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ShootingSight,

I saw a post you made on the "being trolled leads to vertical stringing" thread, it was about focal distances as a person ages.

So I'm wondering if you'd share some knowledge. I was having some trouble focusing on my front sight today (M14 and M1). I started fine but after about an hour I couldn't do it anymore. I'm 30 years old and I weld for a living. I use a dark lens (shade 12) and I usually weld about 10-12" from my face. I'd sometimes like to be closer but my hood gets too hot. Anyhow, I weld like that all day with no problems. But I couldn't handle more than an hour of focusing on my front sight, and that was intermittent, though I suppose the welding is too.

Do you think this issue is simply that the focal distance is different enough that the muscles in my eyes aren't use to it, or maybe something else? I would just go to an optometrist but last time I did that I got sold a pair of glasses that did nothing, and was told I had 20/20 vision in both eyes.

·
Eye Master
4,007 Posts
Yah, most people think 20/20 means you have perfect vision. It doesn't! 20/20 is a test of vision at 20 feet, it is a distance vision test, and measures if your eyes can resolve 1 MOA at infinity which is the standard test of visual acuity.

The test does NOT measure your ability to focus close up, so you might have 20/20, and still need reading glasses.

With time, the lenses in your eyes get hard and you have trouble focusing up close. I don't know if UV from welding can accelerate this, or if your DNA simply did it to you early.