M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just started reloading for my M1a National match, and have a question about flattened primers. I am running Hornady 168 gr HPBTs over 39.5 gr H4895, Winchester WLR primers, in LC 11 cases.Cases were once fired military brass, they had to be sized twice to fit in my cartridge gauge (won't go there again). Cases were trimmed, primer crimps removed, and necks de burred, bullets seated to a COAL of 2.8 in. Accuracy was awesome considering I am still learning the rifle (.6 inch at 100 yards scoped), but every case showed flat primers, nothing had extruded into the firing pin hole, and there were no other signs of over pressure. Any advice on how to eliminate flat primers? do I need to worry about this? Thanks in advance for reading this.
Wood Audio equipment Kitchen utensil Gas Button

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
Not a fan of Winchester primers. CCI is a much better choice if you can find them. Winchester also has a tendency to pierce easier in my experience as well due to their thinner shell.

Shooting the '03 yesterday, all I had for the reloads were Winnie primers. After picking up brass after the RFP stage the guy shooting next to me handed me a few and said, "better check your load, those primers look flat". That "load" is 48 grs of IMR 3031 under a 125 TNT, pretty anemic.

·
Registered
15,167 Posts
There is nothing wrong with flat primers. When they flow into the surrounding groove, you have a problem.

Winchester used to make high quality nickeled primers, up to about 10 years ago. Some batches of the non-nickeled were so soft that they allowed bypass, essentially putting divots in the faces of bolts. Folks that didn't catch it in time had a circle of divots in the bolt face. Not just M14 bolts, but those of bolt action rifles as well.

As I recall, TonyBen found out the hard way.

I swore off Winchester primers at that point. There are better options.

·
Registered
1,662 Posts