M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Aloha:

Just posted this next door... and thought it would be appropriate here too...

Ever since I saw Lamey's Tiger Stripe that he sold to SixTGunr, I have wanted one. Then Six pops up with Twin Tigers and both Devines... Wow! :eek: This really got me going. So, I decided to try my hand at finishing one...

This is my first attempt on a Birch stock with some stripes...

With Les Tam sling...

Not complete without a Dummy Selector kit from Hawk!

Stripes on forearm wraps nicely...

A little Closer Up...

Yep, I used the Devine to take the pics...

The stripes are sometime hard to capture in pictures and depends on the angle to see the inbedded grain of the wood.

I hope you like pics... it was part of my latest project and its been keeping me busy for a while now...

A special Thank You to Matt Lamey for helping me with his procedures on refinishing stocks.

Aloha and Best Wishes,

Tom O.

·
Registered
498 Posts
O.K. Tom

Now you've gone and done it! I'm going to have to start looking for a Tiger. That looks Fantastic 8) !

·
Registered
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aloha Maze...

Thanks! Hahaha! :lol: That's pretty funny! You would not believe it but it was black as coal and I couldn't see any stripes on the stock... but after stripping it, it started to take on a whole different look...

I ended up doing this one three times... each time it did not look like how I wanted or imagined it to look like... the first time, it still had dings and it really bugged me... so I kept redoing it... this last time, I'm kinda happy that it all came together... or I would have not dared show it...

Give it a twirl, it will be fun! And the best part is that you have something to show for it at the end... I see Hawk coming out with some really nice beauties himself...