M14 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, potential new semi M-14/M1A buyer here. I am new to the M-14/M1A platform but a long time shooter. Based on my research on this site and some other webforums, I found myself somewhat disappointed that the standard rifle only gets about 1.5-3 MOA depending on the rifle. I guess that was surprising considering I can do better out of some of my black guns.

I don't intend to shoot competition, and max ranges here are around 200 yards. which brings me to my next question the rifle. I have read enough that I have figured out that I don't want a Norinco. I have read lots of good things about Springfield's lifetime warranty, but then I have also read that GI parts are more desirable. I can't figure out however why the prices on certain rifles vary so much.

Here are a couple of rifles that I was scoping out for potential purchases, can someone tell me what makes these two so different price wise? I really like the one from Crocs but I am not sure I want to dump that much into a gun, that will only give me sub par accuracy. Do you think I should go with some of these or just get a higher end Springfield? Any advise would be helpful.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=419865045

http://m14forum.com/px/163085-lrb-winchester-m1a.html

http://m14forum.com/px/162922-springfield-m1a-golden-years.html

·
Registered
10,921 Posts
The first two are built by small shops using forged receivers. Most M14 style rifles use cast receiver (such as Springfield Armory and Fulton Armory).

The 2nd one is a good price. LRB rifles directly from their shop are closer to $3k.