M14 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to these rifles....so maybe you guys know this....but all on my own...lol...I found a way to check your rifles ME or MW without taking the flash hide off.....I couldn't get mine off, didn't want to buy the tool to do it, but had to know what the ME was!!! I have a ME gage for the Garand, I'm guessing that its still going to be the right one for the M14/M1A....I found out that from the end of the barrel, to the bottom of one of the long slots is 3 lines on the ME gage, or about 7/16". So sliding the gage in, an then having the rifle muzzle pointing up, allow the gage to slide down the bore. Look at the gage through the slots, take a referance on the gage, you could also mark it with a pen. Then take the gage out, look at that referance point an subtract 3 lines down on the gage...theres your MW. On mine, my reference point at the bottom of the slot was at ME 3.8 - 3 full lines = ME 0.8 Note: I'm guessing some flash hiders will be set higher or lower than others, but probably pretty close, you can always slide your gage in with muzzle level so the gage catches the end of the barrel an stops an take a reference there, which is what I did, an also using a small tape measure to check my findings.....is it perfect, no...but its not a perfect world...so there you go guys....post your findings on your ME, an let me know what you think of my formula an findings...I know its the poor mans way, but it works for me.....lol.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nice find! Which me gauge are you using?