M14 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the story:
I've had my M1A Loaded for about a year and have put about 600 shots through it. Never had a problem to extract exept within the first 100 or so shots (probably due to the Indian ammo I was using. I know better now). Even then, the case was still pulled from the chamber, but it would get jammed against the bolt. After I stopped using the Indian junk my problems went away.

Fast forward to about a month ago. After hearing the countless stories of SA extractors flying off the bolts, I replaced it with a Fulton Armory extractor (are they USGI?). I went to the range today and on the THIRD 8O shot the extractor wouldn't pull the case out of the chamber (had to pry it out with a pocket knife).

Has anyone had any problems with FA extractors? Any suggestions are most welcomed

·
Forever Remembered - RIP
3,750 Posts
I have no experience with Fulton extractors. That being said, it may not be the extractor. It could be the case head is not snapping into the grove of the extractor. Before trying a new extractor, pull the bolt out and give it a very thorough cleaning. I use a old tooth brush with bore solvent to clean the bolt face. Also, I have a fine blade small screw driver that will fit in the recesses of the bolt face & between the extractor and bolt with a patch folded over it. You would be surprised how much gunk can get in that grove in just a few hundred rounds. It could be the extractor too, but always check the simple things first. The Indian ammo may have left some nasty stuff in there as well as the gas assembly. I hope it is just something simple that you can cure easily.

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·