M14 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to shooting from a bench and want to improve. In watching some videos, I see the shooters want the rifle to slide straight back in the rest from the recoil. The rail on my EBR causes it to grip the rest and it and the rest bounce rather than slide (I assume this is similar to a bipod and why the bipod isn't as accurate as a rest). The bounce results in having to completely reset for the next shot.

How have you overcome this?

I want to comparison test some various commercial ammo and prove the rifle is sub-MOA. I completed to 1.5 MOA Challenge with a cheap rest and almost no experience (1 group under 1" and 1.3 average) so I have to believe the rifle can do it.

I've thought about taking the bottom rail off. Not excited about that so hoping other solutions have been found. Once I've completed the above project, I don't think I'll continue to be as consumed with accuracy shooting with this rifle so I could put the rail back on.

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
I do not have an EBR, however with the AR varients I've been using parchment paper and a rail cover. Just be sure to return to the same postion after each shot.

Worth a try. Hope this helps.

I have a rough finish set of owl ears on my rest. Unfortunately, it is the only one that I've found that fits my custom made benchrest halfway decent.

I have noticed that this also makes a difference if your front rest tends to grab the checkering on the USGI fiberglass stocks and plastic stocks. It's not that it grabs it, it just never grabs it the same way each time is the real issue.

·
Registered
1,550 Posts