M14 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like a detachable carry handle for my newly acquired BCM upper. BCM sells them for about $110. RRA sells them for about $145. Midway has various ones ranging from $30 to $100. I just missed out on one in a private sale that was GI surplus for $35.

I just want something mil-spec and reliable. Is there a difference between them or am I just paying for a name?

Thoughts?

Tony.

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
I have the factory Colt on my M4 carbine and a Rock River National Match carry handle on my A4 Service Rifle. I have no experience with others, so the Colt is my only standard one.

I can only say that your sights are on the handle, and sights can't be sloppy!

Once I replaced the POS factory Colt trigger, sights were actually important.

Reactions: tonyben

·
Registered
79 Posts
Only one I ever had was a LMT carry handle with my first AR. It was $110 if I remember correctly, and it was a solid part, just very nice in general. Did some tweaking (see link below) and it was a downright fine part. Never dealt with a lower-$ one though.

Whenever you get your situation squared away, I recommend this easy-to-do, easy-to-undo, procedure for the rear sight:
http://www.grburnett.us/guns/ImprovedBattlesightZero.pdf

·
Registered
3,419 Posts
I have a factory Colt detachable carry handle on my 6920 and it is a nice part. I bought a UTG (Chinese) detachable carry handle to go on my Spikes ST 15. It was like $30 from Sportsman Guide, it is a well made part that is finished well and looks like it came installed on the rifle from the factory. I have used the open sights a lot and they work for me. This rifle is not a match gun, just a fun gun. If you can find a GI take off, that would be my first choice, otherwise do not spend any more money than you have to.

·
Super Moderator
11,174 Posts