M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was trying to make a list of all the known and TRUSTED Curio & Relic dealers. Do you guys have any people and on-line sites you deal with often? Good prices? Lets compile a list -

AIM Surplus

http://www.aimsurplus.com/

Classic Arms

http://www.clasicarms.us

Empire Arms

http://empirearms.com/

Florida Gun Works

http://www.floridagunworks.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=FG&Category_Code=CR

J&G Sales

http://www.jgsales.com/index.php/c/c-r-guns/cPath/290

Samco Global

https://www.samcoglobal.com/rifles-2010.html

Southern Ohio Gun Works

http://southernohiogun.com/

I got this off another site - It looks pretty complete.

Dealers of C&R Firearms & related:
Accumounts, MI - accumounts.com
Adams Guns, NM - adamsguns.com
AIM Surplus, OH - aimsurplus.com
Allan's Armory, FL - allans-armory.com
Allegheny Arsenal Inc, PA - mg34.com
Arm Chair Gun Show - armchairgunshow.com
Bolt Man - www.mosinnagant.net/Boltman/Boltman.html
Buffalo Arms, ID - www.buffaloarms.com
Pat Burns (Formerly Burns Bros), NY - gunsnammo.com
BuyMilSurp, FL - www.buymilsurp.com
CMP Sales, AL & OH - thecmp.org
Centerfire Systems Arms, KY - centerfiresystems.com
Century Arms, FL - centuryarms.com
Checkpoint Charlie's, WI - checkpointcharlies.com
Classic Arms, NC - classicarms.us
Clear View Investments, KY - clearviewinvest.com
Collectible Firearms & Edged Weapons, VA- collectiblefirearms.com
Collector Firearms (RANDALL M. BESSLER, L.L.C) - NV collectorfirearms.org
Collectors Firearms - TX collectorsfirearms.com
Down East Antiques, NH - downeastantiques.com
Scott Duff, PA - scott-duff.com
Empire Arms, FL - empirearms.com
FGS, Inc, OH - fgsfirearms.com
Florida Gun Works, FL - floridagunworks.com
Fulton Armory, MD - fulton-armory.com
Georgia Arms, GA - georgia-arms.com
Global Military Gunsmithing, MI - globalmilitarygunsmithing.com
Great Southern Arms, MS - greatsouthernarms.tripod.com
Hallowell & Co, MT - hallowellco.com
Hoosier Gun Works, KY - hoosiergunworks.com
Horst Held Antiqque Handguns, TX - horstheld.com
Impact Guns, UT - impactguns.com
Inter Ordnance (I.O. Inc), NC - ioinc.us
International Military Antiques , NJ - ima-usa.com
J&G Sales , AZ - jgsales.com
Jackson Armory, TX - jacksonarmory.com
K-Var, NV - k-var.com
Keepshooting, MD - keepshooting.com
KY Imports, KY - kyimports.com
MCS Firearms, IL - mcsfirearms.com
Military Gun Supply, TX - militarygunsupply.com
Military Shooters, WI - militaryshooters.com
Miltech, CA - miltecharms.com
Mitchell Military Arms & Ammo, NV - mitchellfirearms.com
Mitchell's Mausers, CA - mauser.org
Ocola Armory, FL - ocala-armory.com
Old Guns, UT - oldguns.net
Old Wester Scrounger, WV - ows-ammo.com
Orion 7 Enterprises, NY - m1garandrifle.com
Phoenix Investment Arms, NC - phoenixinvestmentarms.com
R&R Arms, MN - rrarms.com
RCArms, MN - rcarms.com
R Guns, IL - rguns.net
Samco Global Arms Inc, FL - samcoglobal.com
Sarco Inc, NJ - sarcoinc.com
Simpson Ltd (Collectors Firearms), IL - simpsonltd.com
SMS Guns, CT - smsguns.com
Southern Ohio Gun Distributors, OH - southernohiogun.com
Surplus Firearms, FL - surplusfirearms.com
Tennesse Gun Parts, TN - tngunparts.com/
TG International, TN - tnguns.com
The Armory, VA - the-armory.com
The Garand Guy, NJ - garandguy.com
Treasure Hunt Arms, LA - treasurehuntarms.com
Trinity Arms, MI - trinityarms.com
World of Lugers, AZ - worldoflugers.com

Ammo & Supplies:
A1 Ammo, MN - a1ammo.com
Ammo Depot, IL - ammodepot.com
AmmoMan.com (Discount Distributors), NJ - ammoman.com
Ammunition To Go - ammunitiontogo.com
Apex Gun Parts, CO - apexgunparts.com
Brownells, IA - brownells.com
CDNN Investments (Target Sports), TX - cdnninvestments.com
Cheaper Than Dirt, TX - cheaperthandirt.com
Cliff's Gunsmithing, UT - cliffsgunsmithing.com
Cole Distributing - coledistributing.com
Combat Optical - CA combatoptical.com
Cope's Distributing - copesdistributing.net
Dan's Sporting Goods, PA - dansammo.com
Dillon Precision, AZ - dillonprecision.com
Florida Ammo Traders, FL - floridaammotraders.com
Graf & Sons, MO - grafs.com
Midway USA, TX - midwayusa.com
Natchez Shooting Supplies, TN - natchezss.com
New Frontier Armory, NV - newfrontierarmory.com
PackRats Collectibles, SC - ammogarand.com
ProAmmo, CT - proammo.com
Sportsman's Guide, MN - sportsmansguide.com

I thought this would be a cool thread to start. When we are letting our M1A's cool down, we can shoot our surplus rifles. I guess this could kinda be a thread for cheapest ammo. (added)

I am not affiliated with any of these sites or businesses. I am just a new collector to "surplus" rifles.

If anyone one has something to add please let me know. It is nice to have feedback about a site before purchasing.

Salut.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
551 Posts
For whatever its worth; as an 01 FFL I do sell to C&R holders (I know SOME dealers still won't for some odd reason) so IF you ever run across a deal where you want to buy a legal listed gun but the dealer is giving you problems, let me know if I can help as an intermediary transfer dealer. (Mods; if mentioning this violates any rules or protocols, please remove it.)
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,374 Posts
Some of my favorites with impeccable reputations are Ron Peterson in Albuquerque, Crosshairs Firearms in Clovis, NM, Paul Crosnoe in Cape Girardeau, MO and Bob Simpson in Galesburg, Il. There will never be a shortage of thieves in the collector firearms trade, but those I've listed have stood the test of time. There is a multitude that I would warn prospective buyers to avoid but I can't name them for liability reasons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,903 Posts
I've bought a few SKS's from Samco Global Arms. They have a somewhat spotty reputation but they've worked well for me.

You might also go here for some C&R advice:



http://www.surplusrifleforum.com/index.php
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,074 Posts
don't forget southern ohio gun. as with any surplus firearm it's kinda "luck of the draw" but they do have a hand pick option, and your satisfaction is guaranteed. i have been doing business with them for over 20 years now & so far so good.
andy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
544 Posts
Hey I started off a decade or more ago as a C&RFFL03 guy collecting surplus military guns. At first i thought there were millions and even more millions of the surplus military guns sitting in warehouses waiting to be sold. About 8 years a so ago we talked about this on another military surplus forum. The two of us took the worry about when things will dryup or start too. We took it to a whole new level on discussion too. One predicted the surplus military ammo would start to dryup first before the guns. Of course we seen the 8mm mauser ammo start drying up. Then the military surplus guns were next. Although everything has been spotty here and there still showing up in smaller lots i think overall most of the good days are gone now.

Where lucky to have enough dealers who still carry C&R guns too.

For prices on stuff checkout www.gun-deals.com too. Click on the ammo deals.

Alot of dealers on the net carry C&R guns but some don'r advertise it alot. Wideners and The Armory has some C&R guns too.

So far AIM Surplus has been Number 1 for me but i have dealt with most of the others too. Bill
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
544 Posts
For whatever its worth; as an 01 FFL I do sell to C&R holders (I know SOME dealers still won't for some odd reason) so IF you ever run across a deal where you want to buy a legal listed gun but the dealer is giving you problems, let me know if I can help as an intermediary transfer dealer. (Mods; if mentioning this violates any rules or protocols, please remove it.)
Your right, when i first got into collecting C&R guns one of my local dealers wanted nothing to do with ordering what i wanted. I didn't have my C&RFFL03 yet. They heckled me and laughed at me all the way to the door. I went for my C&RFFL03 right away. I had to cut out the harrassment. We get deals on everything from C&R rifles to handguns too. We get deep discounts on reloading stuff, like equipment and components to gun parts and accessories. Plus dealer prices on ammo and most anything thats gun related too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
PvtJoker, do you have a gun selling business as well? Or do you just have it for personal interests? Thanks for the offer. I went about asking a local gun shop/FFL about ordering a certain C&R and they laughed at me as well. Some people just don't know how to do business.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,903 Posts
C&R Licenses are for personal collections only. The only way that a C&R weapon on your books can be sold or traded is for enhancement of the C&R holder's collection.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
551 Posts
PvtJoker, do you have a gun selling business as well? Or do you just have it for personal interests? Thanks for the offer. I went about asking a local gun shop/FFL about ordering a certain C&R and they laughed at me as well. Some people just don't know how to do business.
Mine is a small home-based gun shop, but it IS a business and not just a personal matter. I do sell guns, although I don't carry a large inventory as a rule because A) most people who come to me come looking for something very specific, which I usually order/find for them. That way, they get what they really want and B) I don't have a fortune tied up in dust-collecting inventory (that I have to pass the costs of onto everyone else). Of course, if someone with a C&R wants to order something through me, so long as its all done legally, I am glad for the business. Most of the time, people with C&Rs can just order directly from the same places I get my firearms through and avoid paying me a fee, but there ARE some times where I can receive a purchase for them that a seller refuses to send to them directly and their local dealer might charge more than I do. Of course, the shipping costs plays into the equation for the buyer too, but if I can help someone get a gun they can't otherwise get- so long as its legal for them to get it on their C&R direct from me- I am glad to do so. What I get for such transfers to out of state buyers is $25 plus the shipping costs. In-state (Tennessee) buyers also have to pay the sales tax, but they don't have to do the TICS background check so that saves them $10 extra that a regular transfer pays.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
544 Posts
We had the biggest C&R gun shop i have ever seen in the 70's & 80's. He had 25' racks of each C&R gun. You name it he had it. Every mauser, every mosin and even 1903's in the cosmoline wrap. When the state laws started to change here the wholesaler who was behind him in another building closed up and he did too. Just the smell of cosmoline got me jones'n to look as i walked into the shop. I spent all the 2 hour lunch hours there just looking and pawing on all of them. Being a blue collar worker, working for coporate headquarters it has its perks. I miss that shop even today.

My first surplus buy there is a yugo model 98k($79) thats a german 98k with the markings scrubbed. My second buy is a finnish m39 ($89). The only 7,62x54r ammo was the norma at the time and $30 a box. I still have the box full i never shot it because it was too expensive. Bill

Its too bad no one has started a chain of gun shops like home depot that caters to the new and C&R stuff too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,084 Posts
C&R Licenses are for personal collections only. The only way that a C&R weapon on your books can be sold or traded is for enhancement of the C&R holder's collection.
Some local nitwit tried to open his own private gun shop out of his house using only a C&R license. Said it was OK since he was only gonna sell guns 50yrs old or older.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 · (Edited)
Some local nitwit tried to open his own private gun shop out of his house using only a C&R license. Said it was OK since he was only gonna sell guns 50yrs old or older.
I know that is not the best idea, but if he only deals with other C&R holders or FFL's, it would be legal? I know another rule of the 03 C&R is that the holder can not "make a living" from dealing with C&R rifles. I guess he could not classify it as a business.

To me that is where the laws becomes fuzzy. I am not saying open up a store, but if you do a lot of dealings on a auction site, could you just not "make a living?"

I know that might be a stupid question, but I am sure a lot of 03 C&R holders sell & trade as well as purchase.

PrvJoker, that is very generous of you to offer that service to members on here. I know a lot of dealers turn their noses at "collectors."

BigBill - I am envious that you could buy a M39 at that price. I know they retail for about $250-300 in great condition. At least the ammo question has been fixed with ALOT of 7,62r on the market.

It would be very cool for a group to open a "Home Depot" for purely curio and relic fire arms. It could be a CMP type business, but offer Mosin's, Mausers, ect. I am sure if you could get a quality inventory of all types of rifles, it would do well.

I know when it comes to rifles, other than my beloved M1A, I purely look for and try to collect C&R type rifles. I know that is not everyone's taste, but I love them not only for shooting, but the history behind each piece.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top