M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never crowned a barrel but I just ordered a crown lapping tool and some 600 grit compound to do it while my rifle is apart (I have some 220 and 320 already).

Exactly how important is doing this? I've read how to do it and it seems too simple to do. Just chuck up the tool in a hand drill, get some compound on it (read to start with 320 then move to 600) and oscillate the drill as you work it into the crown. Seems like easy maintenance to keep the rifle shooting straight (can't say it's that easy to keep myself shooting straight). I may start doing this every 1000 rounds or so depending on how easy/hard it is to get my brake on/off/aligned.

So why don't I ever hear more about doing this? Not needed? Not known? Not easy?

·
Registered
3,997 Posts
I have never done a re crown before. but this much I will say. You will be hard pressed very very hard pressed to keep a Hand Drill Square to the Barrel.

·
"Death From Above"
11,646 Posts
I know sigma05 bought a recrowning tool, you may want to shoot him a pm or email(let me know if you need his address). From his description it was not very hard. I dontt hink he used a drill, pretty sure he did it by hand. I remember reading one of Art Luppino's (cactus comet) threads, where he mention the crown area is one of the most overlooked areas that needs cleaning due to carbon build up. He went on to say that this is part of his cleaning regiment but dont rememeber the frequency. Probably once a season. you may want to consider cleaning it more often(each season) I would be interested to know whatt he wear rate is. Do you plan on keeping records and making TE measurements?

·
Registered
5,747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
...you may want to consider cleaning it more often(each season) I would be interested to know whatt he wear rate is. Do you plan on keeping records and making TE measurements?