M14 Forum banner

Case headspace question

4761 Views 23 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  RAMMAC
So as you are well aware I have been setting up a reloading bench and I am getting ready to make another move on some more equipment. I have heard it mentioned several times in the past couple of weeks not to overlook the 'case headspace". I am not sure I understand exactly what the definition of case headspace is. I am assuming a variety of tools are used to ensure that the case headspace does not go below sammi minimum. If I am wrong please correct me. I am also assuming that the tool or combination of tools allows you to custom tailor the your brass to your chamber hs. For example, if one of my rifles has a chamber HS of 1.630 and another has 1.635 I can adjust the shoulder bump to that of the chamber hs. I may be way off base here, I am still learning. Then there is the question of bullet seating depth. I have seen the rcbs precision mic tool which appears to have a couple of tools one of which tells you how deep the bullet goes into the chamber or throat and you take that reading and back it off a couple of thousandths. I was also told that you can get the same result using a bullet in a prepped case and closing it in the chamber. Any thoughts??? I see there are a few tools on the market, one I already mentioned the rcbs precision mic and onother one that redding makes that looks like it has multiple functions called the instant indicator. there is a good you tube vidoe on how to use it. Is this a tool that will cover all the aspects of what I need in order custom tailor my brass to a specific rifle? I have not been separating my brass by rifle and this tool looks as though it would do that for me after the fact. Then I have seen and I forgot who made it, a tool that you simply drop the case in and its either a go or no go based on how much is sticking out the end of the tool. If anyone knows what I am talking about please let me know who makes that one. Anothe