M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2,456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning,

I am asking this question because it is the only thing I can think of that has dramatically affected my Socom II's accuracy. Just 1 month ago, I was tearing up a steel plate at 300 yards with my irons. Then in between that range trip and my last range trip, I noticed that my gas cyliner lock (front sight, lock and muzzle brake on the Socoms) wasn't tightening correctly and appeared that it needed to be shimmed.

Well, I started playing around with it and noticed that it did still have a little room to screw on tighter....so I tightened it down (extremely tight) and made sure it was straight and aligned correctly thinking a good tight gas cylinder would improve my accuracy. However, on my very next range trip I brought the ol' Socom II along and fired several shots (Federal Sierra Match King 168gr BTHP) at a standard target at 100 yards. I couldn't believe what I was seeing....my rifle that was just recently shooting accurately at 300 yards was shooting 10-12 inch groups! WTF!?

The only modification that I made before this range trip was screwing on the gas cylinder lock alot tighter. Can too tight of a cylinder lock decrease your accuracy? I know there is a simple way to check....by untightening it and shooting again....problem is that I wont be hitting the range again for a while. Any other suggestion of what I can do?

·
Registered
838 Posts
I believe you only need to torque the gas plug to about 15lbs.

The lock it's self should start to snug up at about 5:00 for best results.

But I am no expert.

·
Registered
2,434 Posts
I'm confused