M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
813 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning friends,

So I spent months collecting every minty TRW part, had LRB build me a beautiful M14, including every NM part and modification (excluding NM sights, as I insisted on all TRW) only to find out that the ranges in north Texas don't allow unscoped rifles past the 50 yard range. Not only that, even with perfect vision, I cant see precisely using TRW battle sights. I'm new to the M14 but not the fundamentals of shooting. Should I Sadlak and scope this rifle? I've got a Nightforce ATACR showing up tomorrow which was allotted for an M25 build but I'm considering scoping this one. Anyone else found themselves in this quandry? Any help appreciated, -jordan

· Premium Member
22,450 Posts
I like my optics for sure. With most of todays mounts, move a scope from one rifle to another is not all that difficult. There are many that would love to have your problem.

· Registered
692 Posts
...only to find out that the ranges in north Texas don't allow unscoped rifles past the 50 yard range. Not only that, even with perfect vision, I cant see precisely using TRW battle sights.
Maybe ask to talk the man in charge of the range, Chief Range Officier, or whatever they call the top dog at your range. Shoot your LRB with him and plead your case. Maybe mention CMP hipower matches go out to 200yds with iron sights and you want to practice... I'm my experience opening a tactful dialog helps immensely.
Keep us informed.
E

· Registered
200 Posts
Good morning friends,