M14 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Backup gun debate. For the past fifteen years or so I have carried a handgun almost everyday. Thirteen of those years I have been a police officer, eight as a firearms instructor. I am not an "expert", but I know a fair amount about what works for carring around 12-15 hours a day.
The issue of BUG's comes around in our department about once a year, usually when we hire new officers. The vast majority of our officers don't carry a BUG. :roll: I have carried a Taurus model 85, .38spl. with a bobbed hammer in a ankle rig for years. Recently, I became a K9 officer and do ALOT more running in uniform. I soon discovered the old 85 was heavier than I remembered. Thus the hunt was on for a new BUG. :) (That was the excuse I used with the wife)

I really wanted something lite and wanted to stick with a five shot revolver in .38spl. ( No debates over caliber or rev./semi please) I looked at the offerings from the major manufactures and found some really cool stuff. I narrowed my choice down to Smith & Wesson in the J-frame line between two revolvers. The model 340 PD and the 642. The details of each can be found a Smith's site, but the short version is 340 PD , is .357 cal. and 12 ounces. The 642 , is .38 spl. + p rated and 15 ounces. Both are lite, and they will both handle the +P .38, Gold dot round I like, so how to decide ?

642 $ 309 + tax
340 PD $ 549 + tax

That my friends is a deciding factor :!: The 3 ounces for $250..... jeez.

Now before someone chimes in a says the 340 will take .357's, go find one and shoot a few .357's. You will soon learn why I like the +P .38 so much. We have to shoot one hundred rounds a year in our secondary guns (BUG, off duty gun , etc.) and I have seen officers walk off the line holding their hand trying to qual. with one in .357.