M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the world of using optics so I figured I would ask if there was any tricks to boresighting for the first time?

I just picked up this scope from Midway to learn how to use glass/mildot systems: http://www.midwayusa.com/Product/12...e-6-18x-40mm-side-focus-mil-dot-reticle-matte

I already have a laser boresight I used to get my aimpoint into the general area. Is it essentially the same process?

I will have this scope mounted on my Mod 0 EBR, w/ a LaRue mount LT-608 w/ low rings (cheapies)

I plan on starting at the 100 to zero, then take it to the 300 to experiment with the variable focus powers that are available. This is all new to me.

·
Registered
10,570 Posts
If everything were perfect then starting at 100 yards might be OK but nothing is ever perfect.

• Put up a target at 25 yards and create an aim point that is as small as your scope will resolve.
  • Fire your first round.
  • Aim that same point of aim.
  • While continuing to aim at that original aim point, adjust the scope so that the cross hairs move to the center of the point of impact from the first round. Do not allow the rifle to move while you make this adjustment. You are simply adjusting the scope so that it coincides with where the bullet impacts.
  • Now fire a second shot at the 25 yard target and you should be dead on, if not make any minor adjustment that you have to.
  • After you are on at 25 try a round at 50 yards or just take it out to 100. If you fire a shot at 100 then you will probably be a couple inches low. Make the necessary adjustment.

If you follow this process and your scope is properly aligned with the bore, you will rarely use more than four or five shots to get zeroed.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·