M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have very little experience with my M14 (Fulton/Polytech build), so I haven't a clue how to address what my bolt it doing. Basically it gets stuck randomly both with and without rounds in the chamber; but not everytime. When it happens its when I pull the charging handle, it moves back about a quarter inch until the roller on the bolt fails to allow the bolt to start rotating. It is just begining to move back and rotate, but locks. The only way to move it is to put it into a padded vise and yank on it like hell. Hope I'm describing this clear enough. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
414 Posts
perhaps you should take some closeups of all the parts that are associated with the problem.

places to check for foreign objects and clean

• the bolt and the roller bearing
  • the op rod and the channel it travels down
  • the op rod guide, rod, and spring
  • the inside of the reciever

·
"Death From Above"
11,935 Posts
Do you know how to perform the tilt test? If so give it a try and see what happens I would check all that was mentioned above and pay close attention to the area where the bolt roller moves in the op rod. Make sure it's not buggered up. I assume you are using grease not oil for lubrication? If You discover while doing the tilt test that the op rod guide is misaligned it could very well cause your oprod to bind and also not engage the bolt roller properly. Also check and make sure the bolt roller did not detach from the bolt.
It's a start and I'm sure the suggestions your given on the forum will find the problem.

Is this a recent USGI bolt conversion done by Fulton? Just out of curiosity, if it was a recent conversion who's bolt is in the rifle now?

·
"Death From Above"
11,935 Posts