M14 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I've been looking into getting an M14 for a while now. I'm fairly new to the platform and have some questions I can't seem to find definitive answers to. I was wondering the barrel life of a chrome moly vs a stainless steel. I've heard that the stainless steel lasts longer but I'm curious about the round count for both.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,111 Posts
About 4500 rounds thru either barrel of 'best accuracy'.
And that's assuming very little long duration rapid fire that over heats the barrel.

Jay Kosta
Endwell NY USA

·
Registered
241 Posts
Barrel life

I suggest you start a new thread.

Having read this one you can see that 5,000 round from the standard SAI 18" barrel that came with my rifle in 2009 is still giving good performance.

·
Registered
241 Posts
Oooops, I mis-spoke

Sorry about that. I thought this was an existing thread in which I'd spoken with Springfield Armory about barrel replacement @4,900 rounds. They said to keep going. I think the standard barrel s/b good for 7,500 or so before losing significant accuracy.

My barrel and everyone else's may be different. Mine has been kept clean and fed premium ammo.

·
Registered
4,139 Posts