M14 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pretty much a noob here, love shooting the m1a and have decided to try it out on a hunt. After doing some research I have decided to go with Barnes 168 ttsx for elk/deer in fairly wooded areas where 300 yards would be the longest shot I can imagine. I'll be shooting out of standard m1a. Have been loading up SMK 168 with IMR 4895 with CCI 34 primers and win brass, so would like to use what I have on hand if appropriate, if not let me know.

Would love to hear about any loads people have experience with, with measurements as able. I haven't bought bullets yet, so open to suggestions if you feel there is a better option. Thanks in advance.

By the way, while I have never posted I have learned tons from reading through posts so thanks to all.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So if no one has any specific experience with this, are there any foreseeable issues with using these components together and working up a load similar to the process I used with the SMK's? (pretty new to reloading process too obviously) thanks.

·
Registered
850 Posts
I'm no fan of Barnes bullets.