M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
9,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I am going rabbit hunting in the morning & have decided to take my old Model 11 riot gun. I dug it out & when I cleaned it up I noticed the barrel rubs the forearm in the barrel channel. I sanded a little out enough to clean & straighten it up but it still rubs just a little when the barrel is all the way forward. When the barrel travels to the rear about 5/8" or so I can slide a check around the barrel down into the forearm. I hate to sand any more on it as the bottom of the channel has a fore & aft crack in it. Any cause for alarm here? Thanks!

·
Registered
3,891 Posts
Sorry I'm not an expert on the M11, but on the M11-48 (modified M11) I saw a similar issue. On the 11-48 there is a nut that secures the wood forearm in place. If you loosen that nut, you can rotate the forearm to get it centered with the barrel, then hold it there while tightening the nut. Relieves the rub.

HTH

·
Registered
9,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. But on the 11, a bolt holds the barrel & forearm in place, and it pretty much lives where it pushes on. The forearm has two rearward facing pins at the rear of it that stick into a pair of holes on both sides of the receiver front. I only shot this gun once, & it was brutal. But when I disassembled it, it was bone dry. After lubing it well the barrel slides easy. I think it will be ok, aint like I'm gonna shoot two boxes of shells tomorrow! USN2

·
Registered
3,891 Posts
OK roger that. Makes sense, usually when a company like Remington makes changes to an older design, it's usually to eliminate parts and make it cheaper to manufacture, hence the 11-48 design. (then the 1100, then the 11-87...)