M14 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
3,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Id like to think i have a lot of experience in this realm, but all my experience is with military grade equipment. there seems to be a lot of crap out there on the civilian market, and to get anything decent you have to take a second mortagage out on your house.

anyone here dabble in the realm of civilian night optics? im talking about rifle scopes, or monoculars (that you can strap to a head harness, helmet or rifle).

Again, im spoiled. i ran around with PVS14s, PAS-13V's, PVS-22's etc so on and so forth. I know that ill never able to afford the gen III stuff, but i hear gen II isent all that bad.

Whats good for the money?

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I to would like to know a good answer to this question.

I have tried 2-3 different gen 1 NVG's and as u already know they aren't all there cracked up to be.

I scooped a Gen 2 monocular system from my step father that is an older Russian design. Optics are a better than the US gen 2 but not by much.

I'm in the process of trying to modify a PVS-14 rail mount to tryn mount the best Gen 1 monocular I have infront of a Swarski (sp) day scope I have. Isnt coming along real well as the eye relief sucks on all the Gen 1+2 stuff I have seen or own.

Thought I had come up with a reasonable set up a d showed it to a cop buddy of mine and he was less than impressed to say the least. Oops! I dodnt know such a thing was illegal in California! Guess I should have figured since everything else is.

5,445 Posts
Nightvision devices, within the State of California, are not illegal per se. They're illegal to possess and use when one is hunting mammals, birds, fish, and/or amphibians.

Thus, NVGs are only illegal when used to hunt with.

P.S. If its not taxed, it's illegal. Welcome to California!

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I'm not getting into another pissing contest about what is and isn't illegal in ca.!