M14 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone! I just bought my first rifle today an M1A scout squad with walnut stock. I'm absolutely pumped to go and shoot it, but I have a couple questions.

1. I'm not a hunter by trade but I am interested in going out for a deer with some buddies next season. When that time comes I was thinking of getting an additional stock in synthetic finish to avoid scratching the walnut. What do you guys think about that? And where should I look for a plain Jane synthetic stock. (On a budget)

2. I was checking out the rifle today and loaded it up and racked it. It seemed to function properly but When I went to clear/extract the round nothing happened. The round was stuck in the barrel, casing and all and I could only remove it with a cleaning rod. Did this happen because the bolt didn't come forward hard enough. Do you think there might be damage?

3. Where is the best place to find a replica M14 strap?

Thanks for your help!

111 Posts
Howdy Juice! This is a great forum for learning about a great rifle. For hunting in brush, I would reccomend the plastic stock because I would hate to ding up a good wood stock. You may or may not get better accuracy with a wood or synthetic stock, I would get a wood stock and test'em both out with your chosen hunting ammo.

·
Registered
2,850 Posts
Forum rule (hope you read them all when you agreed to join). "If you are from Louisiana, you have to supply your southern forum buddies with boudan and etouffee."

But seriously, an SAI plastic stock is the cheapest route; but most here would agree that you save your money (or shop very actively on the net) and get a USGI fiberglass.

And welcome!

·
Registered
73 Posts